Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles
continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of
apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate."
~Catechism of the Catholic Church - 1536

A Definition of the Three Degrees of the Sacrament of Holy Orders

Bishops (episcopate) are those who have care of multiple congregations and have the
task of appointing, ordaining, and disciplining priests and deacons.. Examples of first
century bishops include Timothy and Titus (1 Tim. 5:19-22, 2 Tim. 4:5, Titus 1:5).

Priests (presbyterate) are also known as "presbyters" or "elders." In fact, the English
term "priest" is simply a contraction of the Greek word "presbuteros." They have the
responsibility of teaching, governing, and performing the sacraments in a given
congregation (1 Tim. 5:17, Jas. 5:14-15).

Deacons (diaconate) are the assistants of the bishops and have the task of teaching
and administering certain church functions, such as the distribution of food (Acts 6:1-6).

Are you interested in pursuing this sacrament? Begin your discernment process by
perusing the Archdiocesan Vocation Website.